On 9 May 2014, LCCT officially closes, a new Kuala Lumpur International Airport 2 (KLIA2) is built to replace the LCCT with bigger & better facilities. As a result, the info posted on this website is no longer applicable to the new KLIA2. Visit www.klia2.info for latest info on the new klia2 terminal.

Malaysia Entry Requirements

For guests who are planning to visit Malaysia, please adhere to the following terms that are relevant to your country which have been set by the Department of Immigration Malaysia.

1. West Malaysia entry requirements

Countries requiring 100% visa (e.g.: Visa label , Visa prior to arrival)

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • Colombia
  • Cote D’Ivoire
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea Bissau
  • India
  • Israel
  • Liberia
  • Mali
  • Montenegro
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Republic of Niger
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Rwanda
  • Serbia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Taiwan

2. Transit Without Visa (TWOV)

Transit Without Visa (TWOV) is only applicable after clearing Malaysian Immigration – for a maximum of 120 hours stop-over in Malaysia.

Granting of TWOV is solely at the discretion of the Malaysia Immigration; even if guest(s) meet all the required criteria above.

* Note: The definition of a long-term pass of a 3rd country is employment/work permit, expatriate card, student pass or permanent resident card. It is worth noting that a permanent multiple entry visa (MEV) above does not fall under this category and as such, NOT PERMITTED.

Countries eligible for Transit Without Visa
Indian Subcontinent
Sri Lanka India Pakistan
(Diplomatic & Official Passport only)
  • Onward ticket must be within 120 hours.
  • Must arrive and depart only via the same airport. (E.g. Arrive in LCCT, Depart from LCCT)
  • Posses a valid onward ticket and carry a Single Entry Visa (SEV) or Multiple Entry Visa (MEV) issued from/and are heading to any one (1) of the seven (7) countries listed below:
    1. Australia
    2. New Zealand
    3. United States of America (USA)
    4. Japan
    5. China
    6. Taiwan
    7. South Korea

    *TWOV will not be issued if next country of destination is not listed as above.

  • Passport MUST have a minimum validity of 6 months.
  • A PRINTED copy of itinerary and original tickets MUST be produced. Producing a PNR/booking number only, will be denied access.
  • Hold a valid long-term pass* of a 3rd country.
Countries eligible for Transit Without Visa
Other Countries
Bhutan China
Myanmar Nepal
Taiwan Vietnam
  • Onward ticket must be within 120 hours.
  • Guest(s) may arrive via AirAsia/other airline and connect/depart via AirAsia/other airline; as long as flight depart via KUL.
  • Must hold confirmed onward ticket to a 3rd/next country.
  • Passport MUST have a minimum validity of 6 months
  • A PRINTED copy of itinerary and original tickets MUST be produced. Producing a PNR/booking number only will be denied access.

3. Malaysia entry requirement for People’s Republic of China (PRC) nationals

Please be advised that all People’s Republic of China (PRC) nationals departing from any mainland China ports to Malaysia MUST hold a confirmed return ticket and sufficient funds.

Failure to comply with the Department of Immigration Malaysia’s entry requirements will be denied access to step aboard.

4. Foreign Workers

Effective 6 January 2011, all foreign workers who have been granted the Visa Pass Temporary Employment (VPTE) must also obtain the Visa With Reference (VDR) from the Malaysian Embassy or the High Commission of Malaysia before entering Malaysia.

Entry to Malaysia will be refused if these requirements are not met, as it will be classified as Prohibited Immigration and returned to country of origin.

5. Visa on arrival (VOA) will no longer be issued in Malaysia

AirAsia & AirAsia X would like to inform our guests that the Malaysian Immigration Department will no longer be issuing Visa on Arrival (VOA), effective 15th August 2010.

If you were able to obtain a VOA, you will now need a valid visa before you fly with AirAsia. Please comply with this new ruling to avoid being denied access to board.

Source: AirAsia.com, last updated 20 Feb 2011

Latest version of this article Malaysia Visa Information is available at www.klia2.info
(Visited 1,017 times, 1 visits today)